loose park perimeter (and the state of my soul)

November 14, 2007

loosepark10.jpgOne of my favorite seminary professors encouraged perimeter walks — a habit of introspection he began while strolling (literally) the perimeter of his rural property.

In addition to noticing flowers & birds & trees, he argued, such ambling is the perfect occasion for investigating (also) the perimeter of one’s soul.  I’ve taken to the habit.

Though less committed (to both park and soul) than I would like, I do get around to loosepark9.jpgthe practice of a perimeter every now and again.  This week’s stroll around Loose Park brought new resolve.  (Who can resist such beauty?)

loosepark5.jpg

 I’m so thankful for people and practices that force me toward a different kind of shape; I’m praying for the grace to keep company with them often.

Leave a Reply

