talk?

January 26, 2008

All this is flashy rhetoric about loving you.
I never had a selfless thought since I was born.
I am mercenary and self-seeking through and through:
I want God, you, all friends, merely to serve my turn.Peace, re-assurance, pleasure, are the goals I seek,
I cannot crawl one inch outside my proper skin:
I talk of love—a scholar’s parrot may talk Greek—
But, self-imprisoned, always end where I begin.Only that now you have taught me (but how late) my lack.
I see the chasm. And everything you are was making
My heart into a bridge by which I might get back
From exile, and grow man. And now the bridge is breaking.
For this I bless you as the ruin falls. The pains
You give me are more precious than all other gains.

–C.S. Lewis, “As the Ruin Falls

2 Responses to “talk?”


  1. I’m a pretty simple minded man. I don’t understand C.S. Lewis’s writtings at all. I get totally confussed. To me, it’s like he writes in endless circles (or unknown tongues!). By the way, I don’t have the gift of tongues! I know this is late but, C.S. please just get to the point! lol

    This morning, I was thinking about a heart of flesh and a sinful heart of stone. The Spirit lead me to these verses that blessed my heart. May they bless yours also.

    Ezek 36:26-27
    26 A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh.
    27 And I will put my spirit within you, and cause you to walk in my statutes, and ye shall keep my judgments, and do them.

  2. jt Says:

    Tim,

    I went ahead and edited the comments you left earlier today (as you suggested I might). It’s probably true: this shorter version is a little easier to read!

    I confess, I have never felt like asking C.S. Lewis to “just get to the point” … since he comes off (to me) as a writer so totally “on-point” with important things to say, and in a manner that is both cogent and interesting (and many times humorous).

    However, it seems we both agree: how desperately we need the Spirit to renovate our lives … and place within us brand new hearts, inclined to walk in His ways.


Leave a Reply

