let’s give ’em something to talk about

March 25, 2008

While I find much to critique and celebrate within our American political system, I sometimes find myself –simply–merely amused.  A BBC article this past weekend brought these dynamics together with such finesse, I thought it worthy of a nod.  Here’s the teaser …

If you have been struggling to buy doughnuts in Des Moines just recently, or a snow shovel in Cincinnati, then I may have good news for you. The storm system of political energy which is America’s primary system has safely passed for another four years leaving the air trembling with energy in its wake. The winning strategy is to dream big, and to think small. In a country whose constitution guarantees voters the right to pursue happiness, you must offer what one strategist called “the vision thing”.

One Response to “let’s give ’em something to talk about”

  1. jd Says:

    Not that any of the politicians represent me…but I must say…Mike Huckabee, who I didn’t like aligning myself with for a number of reasons, most defintely earned my respect with a campaign budget of $25K per day as opposed to the hundreds of thousands of each of his opponents on both sides of the aisle. HE wins my thrifty-ness award…perhaps I should make a certificate and mail it to him.


Leave a Reply

