evening prayer

June 4, 2008

My soul waits for the Lord more than those who watch for the morning,
more than those who watch for the morning.

Out of the depths I have cried to You.
O Lord, hear my voice.
With my whole heart I want to praise You.
O Lord, hear my voice.
If you, Lord, should mark iniquities:
Who could stand? who could stand?

I will wait for the Lord. My soul waits, and in His word do I hope.

Lord, You have always given bread for the coming day;
and though I am poor, today I believe.
Lord, You have always given strength for the coming day;
and though I am weak, today I believe.
Lord, You have always given peace for the coming day;
and though of anxious heart, today I believe.
Lord, You have always kept me safe in trials;
and now, tried as I am, today I believe.
Lord, You have always marked the road for the coming day;
and though it may be hidden, today I believe.
Lord, You have always lightened this darkness of mine;
and though the night is here, today I believe.
Lord, You have always spoken when time was ripe;
and though you be silent now, today I believe.

Northumbria Community, Evening Prayer

2 Responses to “evening prayer”

  1. ypjim Says:

    I needed this today. Thanks JT.

  2. jt Says:

    That makes two of us. Been meaning to call or write. (You beat me to “the note” I was planning to send about the pleasure it’s been serving together.) Just you wait…


Leave a Reply

