our world seems so broken sometimes …

September 14, 2008

(Probably it should seem that way more often.)

In preparation for an upcoming CCC worship service, I’ve been researching orphans.  According to Saddleback Pastor, Rick Warren (and other sources he sites), there will be 40 million orphans in Africa alone by the year 2015.  Worldwide, between 150-160 million children (that’s more than 1/2 of the US-population!) will grow up without a mother or father.  115,000 children in America are currently awaiting adoption.

Even as I consider the stats, I can’t help but to think of my newest nephew, Sam.  (I’ve been burping him, holding him, rocking him quite a bit in recent days.  He needs a lot.  And I love him so much already!)  I grieve to think that millions of children around the world–just like sweet Sam–have neither care nor love around them.  It can only be the backside of a very great Fall …

One Response to “our world seems so broken sometimes …”

  1. jd Says:

    It is a huge problem and a daunting task for even the church…where do we start…what is the appropriate response…I don’t have the answer.

    My brother was adopted when he was 5 from an orphanage in Russia (as you know, you met him before I did) and those 5 years without love and affection and trust (the list goes on)have left a permanently damaged boy and a family that wished they could have done more…this sadly is the story of thousands and thousands of orphans. I don’t get it…however I do know…

    He defends the cause of the fatherless and the widow…”
    -Deuteronomy 10:18a

    ““Give justice to the poor and the orphan;
    uphold the rights of the oppressed and the destitute.”
    -Psalm 82:3


Leave a Reply

