i spent much of today with john perkins

September 17, 2008

It was an amazing day.  (Lord, may I manifest such spunk & sacrificial service at 78!)

Over lunch, John introduced me to an old Chinese poem–one of his favorites.  (I loved it too.)

Go to the people
Live among them, Learn from them, Love them
Start with what you know, build on what they have:
But the best leaders, when their task is done
The people will remark, “We have done it ourselves.”

3 Responses to “i spent much of today with john perkins”

  1. guido the pool boy Says:

    There is much to be said for “selfless service”. It is one of the Army core values and yet the 3 P’s (perks, privilege, and prestige} seem to get in the way as we achieve success in this world. Woe to the flesh!
    Guido

  2. jt Says:

    Woah is right! Being around John made me *want* to give what it would take to develop the kind of character & love he possesses. (Sort of. I kind of also just feel tired when I think about that.) But mostly, I feel myself deeply wanting to crucify my flesh … and so to be freed for righteousness.

    Hmm. We’ll see how it goes, I guess.

  3. guido the pool boy Says:

    If I had to bet how it goes…I would bet it goes well!


Leave a Reply

