today i visited the asian grocery store off of 95/metcalf

October 22, 2008

It’s a mecca for cheap tea, spices, & curry!  For just a moment or two, I felt like I was back in Chicago; it was blissful to feel a little different than the people around me – even if only for a few minutes.

I’m SO excited about the groceries I purchased; here’s a sneak peek at the fruit-dressing I made up for a luncheon I’m co-hosting tomorrow.  (The limes at “Oriental Super Market” were so fresh & cheap; I bought 14.)  Imagine this, drizzled over mangos, bananas, melons, strawberries, & grapes.)  Yummy …

Grated zest and juice of 6 limes (about 2/3 cups)
3 tablespoons honey (or to taste)
1/2 teaspoon Asian sesame oil
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
pinch of sea salt

Leave a Reply

